Beauty

Spring has come to the desert, flowers are blooming and there is a lushness that makes everything feel new.  My sisters have come  down for my son’s B’day . My baby sister (now 24), has to take daily injections in the abdomen to prevent serious blood clotting due to the 12 hour flight.  I haven’t seen her in over a year; a year in which she has had severe  medical complications and scares. Anyone looking at her would never be able to tell. She carries herself with such strength and dignity that it makes me ashamed of my own grumblings.
I am bossy and demanding but they shrug it off and love me anyway.
I don’t know if it is the beautiful weather, the colors of the flowers bursting open, the laughter and banter of the kids,  or the lighthearted ease of being with my sisters that just makes me happy.
Leave a Reply

